Stay Connected
To subscribe our monthly newsletter, please enter your contact name and email address below:
Follow Us FacebookTwitterYou TubeFlickr

Dhrupad Music

The Dhrupad Tradition

The association of the Dagar Dhrupad tradition in the Mewar court started when Maharana Sajjan Singh (1859-1884) who appointed as his court musicians Ustad Zakhiruddin Khan Dagar (1840-1923) and Ustad Allabandhe Khan Dagar (1845-1927) the foremost exponents of Dhrupad.

Since then, a member of the Dagar family has always held the position of the principal musician of the Mewar court. Ustad Zakhiruddin Khan was succeeded by his son Ustad Ziauddin Khan, and after the merger of Mewar with the union of India, Maharana Bhagwat Singh Mewar (1921-1984) continued with this tradition of giving patronage to Khan Sahib Nasir Moinuddin Dagar and Khan Sahib Aminuddin Dagar.

There are 4 sections or Bhaags of Dhrupad gayaki, namely Sthai, Antara, Sanchari and Aabhog. With the accompanying percussion instruments like mridang or pakhawaj, Dhrupad is sung in chau-taal, su-taal and teevr-taal.

Maharana Bhagwat Singh Mewar invited both the elder Dagar brothers on several occasions in the 1950's to perform in Udaipur, and displayed remarkable foresightedness by recording these performances with their permission.