This year in Mewar
What happened in this year in Mewar
Enter the year in field given below:
or Keyword:
Stay Connected
To subscribe our monthly newsletter, please enter your contact name and email address below:

Ancestry of the House of Mewar

Guhaditya - Salivahan (1 - 19) 569 A.D. - 977 A.D.

1. Guhaditya
566 A.D.
A stirring tale of survival, a dramatic ordeal in the Aravalli hills where Guhil is born in a cave. His mother, Queen Pushpavati, finds refuge in the hills after the Vallabhipura sacking. She later consecrates herself in her funeral pyre. The young Guhil is raised by the daughter of a temple priest, and for friends, he has the hardy Bhils.

With these mountain-men, Guhil forges strong bonds of brotherhood. The Bhil chieftain grants Guhil or Guhaditya his first territory, a stretch of forested mountain near Idar. The State of Mewar is founded and has never forgotten the contribution of the Bhils. Guhaditya's worthy descendants - upholding the Kshatriya principles of honour, gratitude, discipline, courage and pious humility - carry forth their founder's name and are known as The Guhilots of Mewar.
2. Bhoj
586 A.D.
3. Mahendra I
606 A.D.
4. Naag
626 A.D. - 646 A.D.
Naag or Nagaditya builds the capital at Nagda, with beautifully sculpted temples commemorating the rise of the Suryavanshi Kings of Mewar.
5. Shiladitya
646 A.D. - 661 A.D.
6. Aprajeet
661 A.D. - 688 A.D.
7. Mahendra II
688 A.D. - 734 A.D.
8. Kalbhoj Bapa
734 A.D. - 753 A.D.
Bapa the Fountainhead
Bapa, the fountainhead of piety and humility for the Guhilot Kings of Mewar, is the true founder of the dynasty's supremacy among Rajputs.

Bapa moves the capital of Mewar from Nagda to the mighty fortress city of Chittor. In the face of Muslim invasions across the western borders of Rajputana, Bapa unites the smaller states of Ajmer and Jaisalmer to repel the invaders.

For 800 years thereafter, Chittor becomes the symbol of Hindu resistance, facing the armies and hordes of Muslim invaders and conquerors.

The Guhilot Kings of Mewar assume responsibility as the ultimate guardians of Hinduism, in an age when Islam is the dominant force in the world.

Bapa Rawal's religious rigour and nobility earn him the blessings of the holy sage, Harit Rashi.

He recognises Eklingji, an incarnation of Lord Shiva, as the Supreme Lord of Mewar. And receives the state of Mewar in trust from Harit Rashi. He becomes the Dewan of Eklingji or a transient regent representing the people before God and not as a ruler by personal right.

Bapa thus is setting the tradition of pious humility which has remained the hallmark of the Guhilot Kings of Mewar. He builds a temple dedicated to Eklingji, with an icon of granite as pure and clear as a diamond.

Bapa Rawal (his real name is Kalbhoj Bappa) follows the cardinal principles which Harit Rashi lays down for him as Dewan of Eklingji: respect for Mankind, service to the community and maintenance of ancient Vedic culture.

These precepts have never been forgotten and are the enduring, living heritage of the House of Mewar - the world's longest-serving dynasty.
9. Khuman
753 A.D.
The Saga of the Mighty Warrior...
When Chittor emerges as the guardian of Hindu faith, Khuman emerges as its most remarkable guardian-King.

In Khuman Rasa, one of the oldest poetic chronicles of Mewar, Khuman's defence of Chittor is celebrated by the bards. In the face of formidable aggression by Muslim invaders, Khuman brings together the Rajput Kings and other Chieftens to put up a united defence.

He successfully defends the 'crimson standard of Mewar' , treats with contempt the demand for tribute, and after a violent assault in which the barbarian is driven back, follows and discomfits him in the plain, carrying back the hostile leader," writes Col Tod.
10. Mattut
773 A.D. - 793 A.D.
11. Bhartri Bhatt I
793 A.D. - 813 A.D.
12. Sinh
813 A.D. - 828 A.D.
13. Khuman II
828 A.D. - 853 A.D.
Khuman II is engaged in twenty-four great battles against Muslim invaders. And the name of Khuman becomes a family distinction : Khuman Gaani : invoked even today as a greeting and a blessing. "Many Salutations to Khuman"

The impact of Khuman's valiant defence of Chittor, from Muslim invaders, is felt for over three hundred years. The state of Mewar proves to be invincible, repelling the aggressors, forcing them to find other routes into the heartland of the country.

A period of consolidation and growth dawns.
The descendants of Khuman strengthen the territorial integrity of the state of Mewar. New estates and principalities are carved out by the Guhilot Kings. The power and prestige of Chittor is on the ascendant.
14. Mahayuk
853 A.D. - 878 A.D.
15. Khuman III
878 A.D. - 942 A.D.
16. Bhartri Bhatt II
942 A.D. - 943 A.D.
17. Allat
951 A.D. - 953 A.D.
18. Narvahan
971 A.D. - 973 A.D.
19. Salivahan
973 A.D. - 977 A.D.