This year in Mewar
What happened in this year in Mewar
Enter the year in field given below:
or Keyword:
Stay Connected
To subscribe our monthly newsletter, please enter your contact name and email address below:

Lineage of Mewar

01 - 39 Aditya Narayan - Bharook

1. Aditya Narayan
4050 B.C.E
In the highest heaven, it is said dwelled and reigned those Gods who bore in common the name of Adityas... These Gods were inviolable, imperishable, eternal beings and their essence was the celestial light. They were considered to be the eternal sustainers of the luminous life, which existed behind all phenomena. Aditya Narayan was The supreme soul, and the self-existent Lord.He created the waters and deposited in them a seed, which eventually became a golden egg, in which He Himself was born as Brahma.
2. Brahma
4025 B.C.E.
From the Golden Egg Aditya Narayan emerged as Brahma who was and is still considered the progenitor of all the worlds as per Hindu mythology.
3. Marichi
4000 B.
From Brahma descended Marichi, who was one of the seven great rishis. He was represented in the sky by the seven stars of the Great Bear, having bright crests.
4. Kashyap
3975 B.C.E.
Followed by Marichi was Kashyap who married Aditi and begot the Aditya’s and came into the geneological cycle.
5. Vivaswat = Aditya
3925 B.C.E
Kashyap on marrying Aditi also begot Vivaswat.
6. Manu
3900 B.C.E.
Viwaswat was followed by his son Manu who was considered to be wise and mighty. Manu was revered as the lawgiver. His book The Manusmriti or the laws of Manu laid down the structures, which later become synonymous with Hinduism and the Hindu way of life.
7. Ikshvaku
3850 B.C.E. Nabhag Dhrasth Prasu Shayati Narishyn
Ikshvaku was Manu’s son and it was from him, that the Suryavansh or the Sun Dynasty drew its origins. Ikshvaku is said to have reigned in Ayodhya at the beginning of the Treta or Second Yuga and according to various mythological scriptures is said to have a hundred sons.
8. Vikuk-kshi
3825 B.C.E Nimi Dand Nabhagarist Kurush Kubadh
With Nimi was founded the dynasty of Mithila in Videha. He was a great sage himself, who eventually abandoned his bodily form.

The body of Nimi, it is believed was preserved from decay as if it were immortal.

Nimi according tothe Vishnu Purana, resided in the eyes of all living creatures, in consequence of which was their eyelids were ever opening and shutting. This blinking and winking of the eyes thus came to be called nimisha.
9. Puranjaya or Kukutsya
3800 B.C.E.
Puranjaya was the City Conqueror. He destroyed all the enemies of the Gods and conquered the city of the daityas situated in the west. Indra assumed the form of a bull and carried Puranjaya upon his hump and as he rode on the hump, he obtained the name of Kukutstha or Kukutsya.
10. Anena = Vena
3775 B.C.E.
Anena, also called Vena, became the first King after Brahma and it was he who expounded the concept of Rajadharma or the law of government in which the notion of danda, authority backed by force, became important. But Vena ruled so unrighteously that the Gods ultimately had to slay him.

After the death of Vena, the Gods held clouds of dust from bands of men who had taken to plundering because the country was left without a King in a state of choas.

The sages rubbed the thigh of the dead king, from which emerged Nishad. It was from him that the Nishadas sprang out who came to be distinguished by their wicked deeds.

The sages then rubbed the right hand from which sprang the majestic Prith who was resplendent in body and glowed like the manifested Agni.
11. Prithu
3750 B.C.E.
Prithu was the first righteous ruler. He was the nourisher, who provided grain and food for the people and enabled them to domesticate animals. He pursued and milked the cow Viraj and received the milk into his own hands for the benefit of Mankind.Then followed all kinds of corn and vegetables upon which people subsisted till perpetuity.

He was married to Arci and he invented various types of crops on earth as also the jewels hidden in earth. He was the one who develpoed agriculture like never before and made the earth prosperous and magnificnet for the welfare of his subjects. As a result the earth came to be known as Kanya of Prithu and named after him as Prithvi or Prithivi.

By granting life to earth, Prithu came to be considered as her father and so the earth derived its name, Prithvi.

Prithu consolidated his domains and protected his subjects who were so pleased with him that they began calling him Raja. His rule was characterised by utopian conditions wherein the Raja ensured that the earth gave to each person whatever they required, the cows gave milk, the trees bore luscious fruit and men were free from fear, old age, disease and calamities.

Vishnu later entered the body of Prithu and as the Vishnu Purana states, consecrated him as the Raja.

The Raja was now graced with divinity as he assumed the role of the Protector and the Provider for his people. Prithu thus embodied the values of kingship, which remained relevant across the Yugas.

From the Nilamata Purana: seeing the image erected formerly in Magadha by Prtihu, son of Venu- a man obtains the merit of performing or Pundarika.
12. Vishvarandhi
3725 B.C.E.
13. Chandra
3700 B.C.E.
14. Yuvnashva –I
3675 B.C.E
15. Shavast
3650 B.C.E
16. Brahiyep
3625 B.C.E..
17. Kuvalyashva
3600 B.C.E
18. Drahdhasva
3575 B.C.E. Chandrasva Kailasva Bhadrasva
19. Haryashwa
3550 B.C.E
20. Nikumbh
3525 B.C.E.
21. Brahmanashava
3500 B.C.E.
22. Kushava
3475 B.C.E.
23. Senjit
3425 B.C.E.
24. Yuvnashava II
3400 B.C.E.
25. Mandhata
3375 B.C.E.
The son of Mandhata, Purukutsa was a celebrated warrior-King who reigned on the banks of the Narmada. Vishnu entered into his person for the purpose of destroying subterranean evil forces. The Vishnu Purana was revealed to Purukutsa, narrated to him by venerable sages.
26. Purukutsa
3325 B.C.E
Purukutsa ‘s son Tresdasyu was a royal sage and the author of many hymns. He was renowned for his wisdom and generosity.
27. Tresdasyu
3275 B.C.E
28. Anranya
3175 B.C.E
29. Harshsasva
3125 B.C.E
30. Arun or Vasuman
3050 B.C.E.
31. Tridhanva
3025 B.C.E
32. Satyavrat
3000 B.C.E.
33. Harishchandra
2950 B.C.E.
Among all the Suryavanshi Kings, the most revered was Harishchandra, the defender of the distressed, exemplified piety and sacrifice, honour and a sense of justice. In Puranic literature and the epics, Harishchandra is hailed as Bhartendu, the one who embodied the hopes and aspirations of Bharat-varsha. Though reduced to a state of utter helplessness by the sage Viswamitra, Harishchandra never lost his piety, faith or his honour. He was a Suryavanshi King remembered for being ‘bound, beaten, confused and afflicted’. Yet he remained conscious to the call of duty and service. His dharma remained steadfast even though his world fell apart. Vyasa’s Mahabharata relates that he was raised to the heaven of Indra for his performance of the Rajasuya sacrifice and for his unbounded charity.
34. Rohtashva
2925 B.C.E.
35. Haritashva
2900 B.C.E.
36. Champ or Champu
2875 B.C.E.
37. Sudev
2850 B.C.E.
38. Vijai
2800 B.C.E
39. Bharook
2775 B.C.E