This year in Mewar
What happened in this year in Mewar
Enter the year in field given below:
or Keyword:
Stay Connected
To subscribe our monthly newsletter, please enter your contact name and email address below:

Lineage of Mewar

118 - 156 Gautam Buddha - Grahsen

118. Shudhyod or Gautam Buddha
575 B.C.E .
To the Shakya King in Kapilavastu was born Shudhyodh or Gautam Buddha, a Prince among Princes. Abandoning his princely life, Buddha discovered the means of salvation through intense meditation. Once enlightened, he preached his first sermon, which was the Turning of the Wheel of Law at Sarnath near Banaras.

He provided a simple meaning to human existence and its goal, opposing the brahmanical orthodoxy of his times. Buddhism emerged as an organised religion, in an age made prosperous and stable by the mighty Kshatriya kingdoms along the Gangetic plain.

In the Satapatha Brahmana, Buddha was pronounced as the ninth avatar of Vishnu, holding forth the promise of salvation and nirvana. It was an age of political uncertainty and social churning older kingdoms made way for the new. Migrations from Greece and Central Asia, new settlements in the north and west shifted the focus onto new kings, eras and people.
119. Langal
525 B.C.E
120. Prasenjeet II
500 B.C.E.
121. Khsurduck
475 B.C.E
122. Mulak Ranak
450 B.C.E.
123. Surath
425 B.C.E.
124. Sumitra
400 B.C.E.
Vishvaraj Karma Vajranabh
375 B.C.E.
Sumitra, the last Suryavanshi King who reigned in Ayodhya, was a witness to changing political fortunes: the decline of Greek kingdoms in the northwest, the rise of the Scythians or the Shakas and their slow settlement in Kutch, Kathiawar and Malwa. Like the Suryavanshi Kings, these rulers became the builders of empires in Bharat-varsha.

Despite the prevalence of foreigners, Vedic religion and rituals remained sacrosant. Dharma and righteousness, enshrined in the Bhagavad-Gita, were popularised through Brahmanical teachings. The Gita emerged as a sacred text par excellence, precise and literary.
125. Brajnabh
350 B.C.E
King Bala
325 B.C.E
126. Jeetshatru-sen
250 B.C.E.
127. Maha-sen
200 B.C.E
128. Hans-sen
175 B.C.E.
129. Chandra-sen
125 B.C.E.
130. Sudham-sen
75 B.C.E.
131. Suhil-sen
25 B.C.E
132. Vikram-sen
25 C.E.
133. Maharathi
50 C.E.
134. Atishayee
135. Anchalsen
100 C.E.
136. Kanaksen
125 C.E
It was Kanaksen who made history, as he was the first of the Suryavanshi Kings to migrate to Saurashtra and establish the empire of Vallabhi there. (Gazeeters-Erskine; 1992 (first published 1908), Page - 13) Col James Tod, in Volume I of Annals & Antiquities of Rajasthan, was uncertain “ by what route Keneksen found his way to Saurashtra. He wrested dominion from a prince of the Pramara race and founded Birnagara. Four generations afterwards, Vijaisen founded Vijyapoor at the head of the Saurashtra peninsula. Vidurba was also founded by him, but the most celebrated was the capital of Balabhipoora, now revealed as Balbhi near Bhownugger.”

The appellation ‘Sen’ (meaning ‘army’) remained the martial name for many generations, to be followed by ‘Dit’ or ‘Aditya’ (sun). New terrorities, new challenges presented themselves to the descendants of Kanaksen who established themselves in Saurashtra, the country of Sauras or Sun-worshippers.

The indomitable Kshatriya spirit of valour and honour was demonstrated in the battles for supremacy and imperial ambitions were kept alive. The rich heritage of Hindu values and traditions, emanating from the distinguished royal house of Raghu, were preserved and nurtured. Lost in the labyrinths of antiquity were the records that detailed the lives and achievements of these Kshatriya Kings who had the enduring courage to face hardships and calamities.

From the fires of destruction that reduced Vallabhipura to ashes emerged the dynasty, which continued to shape the destiny of Bharat-varsha. It heralded new hope for the future and provided continuity to the glorious lineage of Suryavanshi Kings who descended from Ikshvaku and Ram in Kosala.
137. Saubhil
138. Mahasen II
150 C.E.
139. Vijaisen
140. Ajaisen
175 C.E.
141. Abhangsen
142. Mahabhayasen
200 C.E.
143. Sinhrai
225 C.E.
144. Sidhrath
145. Sujaditya
250 C.E.
146. Sumukhaditya
275 C.E
147. Dharpat-sen
300 C.E.
148. Sudantsen
325 C.E
149. Vijaibhoop
350 C.E.
150. Somdutt
375 C.E
151. Vijaisen
400 C.E.
152. Dharsen
425 C.E
153. Dronsen
450 C.E.
154. Dhravsen
475 C.E.
155. Dharpat
500 C.E
156. Grahsen
525 C.E.